are you kosher?
That's a great question! (And one that, as you might imagine, we get asked a lot!)
We are kosher, but not kosher for PAssover
It's actually not an oversight, we have deliberately chosen to not get the extra "kosher for Passover" certification for a whole bunch of (what we think are) good reasons.
1-We want our matzo to be a year-round cracker and NOT something that's just for ritual use.
2-We're making it for people who care more about it being unleavened than they do about it being "made official" by a certifying agency. For someone like me, the fact that it's "matzo" is all I care about on Passover. (The rest of the year, I just care about it being delicious!)
3-Most importantly, we find some of the requirements of certifying something as "K for P" counterintuitive to our mission of making this a year-round, all-inclusive cultural product. (Namely that it must be "untouched" by non-Jewish hands. How can we offer it to people from different backgrounds if we deem them unworthy to touch it??)
We're a small-batch company and we make our product with clean, simple ingredients in a completely Kosher bakery...which was a feat onto itself. Those for whom the "K for P" stamp is important have plenty of other options for the holiday...and they can eat ours the other 51 weeks of the year!
Hope that answers the question for you...wishing you a hAppy holidAy.
Ashley, Kevin & The Matzo Project Crew